View Single Post
Old 02-18-2015, 01:58 AM

PCH BMW is on a distinguished road
Summary of 3 Options and My experience with 30-minute process

DISCLAIMER. I’m an amateur, not a pro. The description below is what I did and my thoughts and process; it may be helpful to you and it may be inaccurate, misleading and terrible. It is not a statement of how to do anything. Working on my X5 and Mini is a relaxing hobbie compared to my day job and I only tackle tasks after a lot of reading and leaning. If a task appears to be outside of my skill set, tool inventory, or just too darn hard, then I rely on an indie and dealer pros and I think that they are worth every penny in those circumstances.

Summary of a very long and interesting thread.
3 options you have.
Option 1. Full-By the Book Hub removal.
Option 2. Partial shortcut hub removal and outer CV joint separation.
Option 3. Inside Job super short cut – you replace both boots to save time, hassle, and reduce potential roadblocks.

MY Choice – Inside Job Super Short Cut. Result – Wunderbar!
At a relaxed pace with numerous interruptions from my wife and my buddy's wife and sometimes even my buddy, I completed the driver’s side job in 2 hours not including 45 minutes to clean up my tools. My buddy helped me hold things at 3 points in the process. Next time I’ll shoot for under an hour. I encountered no roadblocks (e.g., No hub nut from hell, axel removal from hell, inner bearing removal from hell, etc.).

START of Inside Job Super Short Cut.
1) Put front wheels on Ramps (optional and fast), break free lugs and control arm at engine connection (only break free, do not loosen lugs or nut).

2) Jack up front of car (jack stands), remove ramps, remove wheel lugs and wheel.

3) Unbolt the straight control arm at the engine side (only 1 side). Tape control arm to the skinny link arm just to keep it out of the way.