View Single Post
Old 07-31-2005, 02:09 AM
Vendor

el_duderino is on a distinguished road
In-depth analysis of 2005 X5 "DSP" Nav audio system

Hi there. My name's Ken, and I own a car audio shop in Portland, Oregon (avincar auto sound, we're at www.avincar.com ). A forum member just had us upgrade his X5 audio system. I'll let him tell you about the factory system and his experience of our upgrade to it (hopefully that's all positive, but I hope that if anything comes up, he tells you and us: )

This post is intended to tell you about how the OEM audio system works, and what's complicated about it, and how we worked with it. THIS IS NOT A DIY POST. One, I didn't do the wiring personally (our installation manager did) and can't tell you wire colors anyway. Two, I know there's a lot of variation from system type to system type, so I might not describe the car you're working with anyway. Three, I do this for a living, and while I don't mind helping as much as I can over the internet (I advise many people on an Acura forum about A/V questions), this is a very complicated process, and - no offense meant - I frankly don't want to take reponsibility for your results.

OEM system basics

So first off, this system is a Nav system with a changer and Sirius, and there is a menu line for "DSP". HOWEVER, there is no digital cable out of the changer. Apparently that means that it's some sort of "quasi" DSP system.

The signal that comes out of the HU to the OEM amp is two-channel, and fixed in level. That means that when we manipulate the Volume, Fader, and Balance controls, nothing changes on this signal. Apparently there are also data lines from the HU to the amp, and these control the tone controls inside the amp. (We did not test these preamp signal wires for frequency response, nor did we test to see if the seven-band EQ in the HU affected the signal on these wires. More on this later.)

The amplifier has either twelve or fourteen channels of output. That's right - fourteen.