Xoutpost.com

Xoutpost.com (https://xoutpost.com/forums.php)
-   The Lounge (https://xoutpost.com/off-topic/lounge/)
-   -   Feedback asap (https://xoutpost.com/off-topic/lounge/48812-feedback-asap.html)

KingCon 06-26-2008 09:40 AM

Feedback asap
 
I have been trying to sell my X5 for about 3 weeks now, without so much as an offer. I've even dropped the price to 28,500...with no luck.


So today I get a call from Jim Kraft at http://www.specialtyauto.net/ He says that they market the car to prospective buyers who have inquired about my make and model. They then finance through capitol one for 5%, this allows me to sell my car for full asking price...no less that 33K. All this for a small fee of $299.

I know my car is in great shape and worth at least 30K, but in this present economy I just don't see it happening.

So my question is...is this guy for real?:dunno:

blk133 06-26-2008 10:34 AM

I have my car for sale on cars.com and get these calls every day from people like Jim Kraft. I'd say it is a BS. One guy called me and said I already have a buyer for your car for a full asking price. I told him straight forward: "No you don't!" He was like--- How do you know that I don't (laughing). I even get calls from local Mom/Pop "dealerships" that offer me to put my car on their lot for $180 till it sells. I asked one guy, so a $30K car will sit at your lot, people will take it for a joy ride, you don't invest a penny for "your inventory" and I am out of $180. No thanks!
I got 2004 X5 4.4 with Navi and Comfort seats and 46K miles and neither your car nor mine are just worth 30K right now. Yes, I know this is not what you want to hear but it's just the way it is right now. 4.4 V8 America, people are in shock of the gas prices. Good luck with the sale though.

Boston X5 4.4 06-26-2008 10:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KingCon
I have been trying to sell my X5 for about 3 weeks now, without so much as an offer. I've even dropped the price to 28,500...with no luck.


So today I get a call from Jim Kraft at http://www.specialtyauto.net/ He says that they market the car to prospective buyers who have inquired about my make and model. They then finance through capitol one for 5%, this allows me to sell my car for full asking price...no less that 33K. All this for a small fee of $299.

I know my car is in great shape and worth at least 30K, but in this present economy I just don't see it happening.

So my question is...is this guy for real?:dunno:


Don't forget he is offering to 'market' your car for 33K not 'sell' your car for 33K - important differentiation. IMO, stuff the three bills in your pocket or spend it on a detail to make your ride stand out to potential buyers.

Good luck

KingCon 06-26-2008 10:51 AM

Thanks for the feedback. That's what my gut feeling was also.

E61Silver 06-26-2008 11:00 AM

Why sell it?

Thunder22 06-26-2008 11:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by x54.4blue
Why sell it?


why not? :confused:

Ldiggs910 06-26-2008 11:43 AM

My mom had someone call her with a similar pitch for her CLK320 and she went for it. The fee was non-refundable and she never saw her ad wherever it was supposed to be posted and I wound up getting it sold for her through Craigslist.

4.6is Ryder 06-26-2008 11:50 AM

Staying power is the key you guys. In today's economy, V8's are a tough sell.....especially the SAV/SUV segment. I went through the same thing but I was waiting for my 6 to arrive. Trading it in was the easiest way for me. The loss was minimal back in January. Today, you'll practically have to buy your way out of it. All of these so called dealers are out for no good. I too would get the calls all of the time. I had to go off on one of them to stop him from calling me. I even had to edit my post with no third party calls. So KingCon, good luck to you my friend. Hang in there :thumbup: ........Phil

Wagner 06-26-2008 11:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ldiggs910
My mom had someone call her with a similar pitch for her CLK320 and she went for it. The fee was non-refundable and she never saw her ad wherever it was supposed to be posted and I wound up getting it sold for her through Craigslist.

Exactly. Avoid those scams like the plague. I've rarely heard a single story where that worked.

E61Silver 06-26-2008 12:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gresch
why not? :confused:

We know that X5's are great cars/trucks and the mpg is not that bad.

The current market is supposed to be weak for SUV's (though book values do not reflect this) so why not continue driving a great car/truck?

In fact I might even buy a used 06 X5 if the prices for CPO drop.

AzX5 06-26-2008 12:32 PM

I listed mine on autotrader.com and sold it to a small dealer in CA who exports X5's to China. Apparently the Chinese pay big bucks for used X5's. I doubt you'll get more than 25-26k in the U.S. market though, IMO.

Meiac09 06-26-2008 12:58 PM

Your truck is black on black. Perfect combo for this: I put my VW on Craigslist and got three Russians willing to pay book value in cash. Try that.

blk133 06-26-2008 12:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AzX5
I listed mine on autotrader.com and sold it to a small dealer in CA who exports X5's to China. Apparently the Chinese pay big bucks for used X5's. I doubt you'll get more than 25-26k in the U.S. market though, IMO.

What color combo? black on black?

AzX5 06-26-2008 01:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blk133
What color combo? black on black?

Yep, it was black on black.

Brisbane 06-26-2008 01:43 PM

Craigslist. I was inundated with calls.

Note the newspapers ads are virtually all dealers now.

Eric5273 06-26-2008 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brisbane
Craigslist. I was inundated with calls.

:iagree: I found someone to take over my X5 lease in one day. I placed the ad at 1am before I went to bed, and when I got into work the next morning, I had about 15 voicemails waiting for me. One person came over that evening and said she would take it.

As for getting a call from someone offering to sell it for you, I would tell them you'll give them a percentage of the sale, but nothing upfront. If they aren't interested, that tells you how confident they are they will sell it.

blk133 06-26-2008 04:31 PM

Probably not what you want to see. I found this one for sale on craigslist and asking price for 2003 4.4 is 20K. This one has no navi though. http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/car/728009031.html


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:58 PM.

vBulletin, Copyright 2026, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
© 2017 Xoutpost.com. All rights reserved.