Home Forums Articles How To's FAQ Register
Go Back   Xoutpost.com > BMW SAV Forums > X3 (E83) Forum
Arnott
User Name
Password
Member List Premier Membership Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Xoutpost server transfer and maintenance is occurring....
Xoutpost is currently undergoing a planned server migration.... stay tuned for new developments.... sincerely, the management


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2011, 10:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 87
04X3 is on a distinguished road
Dice duo trunk install, x3

I ordered a dice duo silverline trunk interface a few days ago, and just waiting for it to arrive friday

I've seen a few videos and it looks like all I have to do is lift the center console, find the two cd changer wires, connect the dice unit and stash it under the console, route the ipod cable through the console, and that's it? Does it really involve the trunk at all? I saw the Bavarian Sound Werks instructional videos and that's all they showed for the x3...

Any advice for an x3 dice install?
Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 01-09-2012, 12:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 31
fluid is on a distinguished road
Did you ever get this working? I'm thinking of ordering the Dice DUO for my wife's '05 X3. I prefer not to do a trunk mount since it would involve more wire routing. What's the point? The cable to connect the iPhone isn't that long.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2012, 04:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 87
04X3 is on a distinguished road
I got it to work. Email the guys at ECS tuning, they will send you a diagram of an extra step thats not in the manual. It has to do with pulling the dash out, finding the AUX wire behind the radio and plugging that in somewhere behind the dash. Its very clearly marked once you take out the radio.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2012, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 87
04X3 is on a distinguished road
I went with a USAspec, but from what I've heard Dice has gotten more reliable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2012, 01:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: manitoba, canada
Posts: 9
bruce-x3 is on a distinguished road
I tried to install the Dice MediaBridge in the console on my 2008 - X3
I went thru all the steps, found the correct wires, etc. but no sound from the iPod.
the NAV display shows the song that is playing, but no sound
I also pulled the radio and tried switching the cables, still no sound.
I'm ready to tear this out and give up
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2012, 03:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 24
Gadgets4U is on a distinguished road
Was the CD stacker working before you installed the Media Bridge or wasn't there one installed? If it was and you've installed the Media Bridge using the connections from it there shouldn't be any reason why it doesn't work. When installing did you disconnect the battery?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2012, 05:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: manitoba, canada
Posts: 9
bruce-x3 is on a distinguished road
there was no CD Changer installed before.
when installing I did remove both battery terminal, exactly as described in the installation guide
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2012, 03:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 24
Gadgets4U is on a distinguished road
Check to make sure the CD Changer plug/cable is installed in the FAKRA plug on the back/bottom of the radio module in the trunk and not loose or tied to the loom. From what I've been reading about thes X3 some of the changer & I-Bus cables have either been left out, strapped-up on the loom and not installed in the multi-plugs.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2012, 04:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: manitoba, canada
Posts: 9
bruce-x3 is on a distinguished road
so there is wiring that goes from the Console >>> to the rear hatch (radio module) and then >> to the radio head unit ??

where is the FAKRA plug ? what does it look like ? << I'm so confused >>
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-25-2012, 05:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 24
Gadgets4U is on a distinguished road
Have you Identified what modules you have in the LHS of the Trunk?
If you have a module with a plug similar to the one below (but with thin flat terminals instead or round ones) then thats your radio module. And just like the picture, one of the smaller (white color) 10 pin plugs is not installed, this may be what your problem is as the CD Changer audio is routed through one of these plugs.
If this Black FAKRA plug is in the front centre console then your radio module is there, but check to see if both 10 pin plugs are installed. The picture shows the Auxillary Plug in place but the CD Changer 10 pin plug is not installed.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 AM.
vBulletin, Copyright 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
2017 Xoutpost.com. All rights reserved. Xoutpost.com is a private enthusiast site not associated with BMW AG.
The BMW name, marks, M stripe logo, and Roundel logo as well as X3, X5 and X6 designations used in the pages of this Web Site are the property of BMW AG.
This web site is not sponsored or affiliated in any way with BMW AG or any of its subsidiaries.