Home Forums Articles How To's FAQ Register
Go Back   Xoutpost.com > Electronics > Mobile Electronics Forum
Fluid Motor Union
User Name
Password
Member List Premier Membership Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Xoutpost server transfer and maintenance is occurring....
Xoutpost is currently undergoing a planned server migration.... stay tuned for new developments.... sincerely, the management


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2005, 06:33 PM
avonside's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Stratford Upon Avon ,UK
Posts: 283
avonside is on a distinguished road
adding a sub to a 2005

I have just collected my new 2005 3.0 but I only have the standard in dash cd player with no DSP.Can I easily retro-fit a sub in the trunk area.Is the wirring already in place, does the cd unit have any output connections to add a sub .

Thanx.

Steve
__________________
2005 Toledo Blue 3.0 Beige Lthr-sport-prem-clim-autodim mirrors;;
Mods so far; rear fog lights retro-fit,ractive oval tips,titanium grille set,OEM trailer hitch,mud flaps, aux audio input,non-smoker ash tray,sub-installation and a set of the 4.8is 20" replicas with cooper Zeon 4xS.Euro clear headlights & rear parking sensors.LPG Dual fuel convertion.Chrome bezel rings,Fitted uk cycle lighting board electric hook up,Sport wheel centre re-trimmed in Alcantara,
Still luvin the ride :
Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:31 AM
dkl's Avatar
dkl dkl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 2,784
dkl is on a distinguished road
Adding a sub is somewhat of an easy task...although not as easy as plug and play, but fairly close. You have to tap into you OEM amplifier, which sits on the bottom of the rear driver side panel. There are a few write up in the Stereo section.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2005, 04:26 PM
avonside's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Stratford Upon Avon ,UK
Posts: 283
avonside is on a distinguished road
amp location

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkl
Adding a sub is somewhat of an easy task...although not as easy as plug and play, but fairly close. You have to tap into you OEM amplifier, which sits on the bottom of the rear driver side panel. There are a few write up in the Stereo section.

Thanx,

when you say its at the bottom of the rear driver side panel, do you mean in the trunk area or inside the main car under the seat base.

Will the amp have a output for a sub if my stereo is non dsp.
__________________
2005 Toledo Blue 3.0 Beige Lthr-sport-prem-clim-autodim mirrors;;
Mods so far; rear fog lights retro-fit,ractive oval tips,titanium grille set,OEM trailer hitch,mud flaps, aux audio input,non-smoker ash tray,sub-installation and a set of the 4.8is 20" replicas with cooper Zeon 4xS.Euro clear headlights & rear parking sensors.LPG Dual fuel convertion.Chrome bezel rings,Fitted uk cycle lighting board electric hook up,Sport wheel centre re-trimmed in Alcantara,
Still luvin the ride :
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2005, 05:01 PM
Bavarian's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,146
Bavarian is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by avonside
Thanx,

when you say its at the bottom of the rear driver side panel, do you mean in the trunk area or inside the main car under the seat base.

Will the amp have a output for a sub if my stereo is non dsp.
No, as DKL said, you have to "tap in"...so just piggy-back the wires on the amp.
__________________
2008 ML320 CDI | Iridium Silver | Black ARTICO Leather | Premium Package (H/K Logic7, Parktronic, Rear Heated Seats, Rear Power Hatch, DVD Nav, 10-way Front Seats w/ Memory) | Backup Camera | Aluminum Running Boards | 4500K MTEC Low-beam HID | 30% Metallic Tint | Boomerang2 Recovery System | Weathertech Front Floorliners | Bridgestone Blizzak DM-V1 Winter Tires
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2005, 12:17 AM
statdoc's Avatar
Master of Disaster
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florabama
Posts: 4,236
statdoc is on a distinguished road
If you mounted a subwoofer in the left rear panel, would it cause any electrical interference with the electronics already in that area? I installed my XM Direct boxes in that area a few days ago, and could install a sub or something more in that panel, I suppose.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2005, 12:44 AM
dkl's Avatar
dkl dkl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 2,784
dkl is on a distinguished road
The left rear panel is where the OEM Subwoofer would reside if you got the DSP option...so unless BMW are using some magnetically shielded woofer back there, which I doubt (Hmmm...maybe that's what's causing a lot of the electrical problems that some people seems to experience on their Bimmers...putting a large magnet next to their main circuitry). But you do bring up a good and valid point since a lot of the fuses are in that location. It's never a good idea to put a huge magnet near any electronics circuitry...especially one with variable flux field such as a woofer. So...I guessed no one would really knows without some extended studies.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:33 PM.
vBulletin, Copyright 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
2017 Xoutpost.com. All rights reserved. Xoutpost.com is a private enthusiast site not associated with BMW AG.
The BMW name, marks, M stripe logo, and Roundel logo as well as X3, X5 and X6 designations used in the pages of this Web Site are the property of BMW AG.
This web site is not sponsored or affiliated in any way with BMW AG or any of its subsidiaries.