![]() |
Umptyseventh EBay scam Question...
Got this email this am..."similar but diff" from previous bs EBay stuff. Should I persue it and click and do as they ask or jes' toss it?
TheCEO & I are very infrequent eBay lookers or buyers, but she did buy some fabric for quilting there, months ago. I have never opened an "account" or bought anything from the them. I trust sites like eBay like I trust the govmint. Any opins are welcome. Thanks&BR,md email paste: Your credit/debit card information must be updated Dear eBay Member, We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your eBay account from a foreign IP address and we have reasons to believe that your account was used by a third party without your authorization. If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual login attempts may have been initiated by you The login attempt was made from: IP address: 172.25.210.66 ISP Host: cache-66.proxy.aol.com By now, we used many techniques to verify the accuracy of the information our users provide us when they register on the Site. However, because user verification on the Internet is difficult, eBay cannot and does not confirm each user's purported identity. Thus, we have established an offline verification system to help you evaluate with who you are dealing with. click on the link below, fill the form and then submit as we will verifyhttp://www.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?VerifyRegistrationShow Please save this fraud alert ID for your reference Please Note -</FONT> If you choose to ignore our request, you leave us no choice but to temporally suspend your account. * Please do not respond to this e-mail as your reply will not be received. Respectfully, Trust and Safety Department eBay Inc. </FONT>Helpful links Search eBay - Find other items of interest My eBay - Track your buying and selling activity Discussion boards - Get help from other eBay members eBay Help - Find answers to your questions Learn More: Get notifications right on your desktop before an auction ends with the eBay Toolbar ! http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/spacer.gifhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/spacer.gif As outlined in our User Agreement, eBay will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements. Visit our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have any questions. Copyright © 2005 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc. </FONT> |
TOSS IT....total scam
|
MD, that is a known scam. Just hit the delete key and fogettabboutit. I got several of these too and checked out the code in the email. ALl of the links other than the one you click go to legit Ebay servers. However, the form you click on is redirected to a spoofed hack server. In fact, if you will hover your mouse over the link to the form.... look at the URL it points to, it goes to http://www.ebay-servicedepartment.com/ instead of ebay.com... Toss it.
|
md - that's a common spool email and is not associated with eBay in any way. See this page for how to report it, should you be so inclined - http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidenc...eft-spoof.html
Whenever I get these I report them immediately so that the site gets shut down and others don't get burned. Unfortunately, the crooks behind these scams just move on to another site and repeat it. It only takes one person to respond out of the millions of these emails they send out for them to profit from this ruse. |
Another phishing email. Toss it.
|
Yup. Agreed: Total Scam. You can toss it, or report it to eBay by forwarding the entire message to: [email protected].
From eBay: eBay will not send you email that includes attachments and you will not be required to enter information on a page that cannot be accessed from the eBay site. If you receive a message that appears to have been sent from eBay that includes an attachment, do not open it. Here's a couple of links: http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidence/spoof-email.html http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidenc...eft-spoof.html EDIT: Too late on the draw. What Jeff said. :thumbup: ---- What's that object I see in the sky? Could it be...the sun? It's Zaino time. :D |
Thanks, Men! Ya'll THEBest! :thumbup:
Thought so, but wasn't sure, so I come here and ask the Pros. Thanks for watching out and advising your FaveXWorldGeezer. :D BR,Ol'UncMtr |
Notice how the If an ip address starts with 172 then it is a private Ip. It is impossible for someone to the surfing the internet with that IP. Total scam.
|
What e-mail provider do you use?
One of the strong points of GMail is that a lot of phishing attempts are seeded out into your Spam box before you even see them. That helps tremendously. |
Quote:
|
| All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 PM. |
vBulletin, Copyright 2026, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
© 2017 Xoutpost.com. All rights reserved.