Home Forums Articles How To's FAQ Register
Go Back   Xoutpost.com > Off-topic > The Lounge
Fluid Motor Union
User Name
Password
Member List Premier Membership Today's Posts New Posts

Xoutpost server transfer and maintenance is occurring....
Xoutpost is currently undergoing a planned server migration.... stay tuned for new developments.... sincerely, the management


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:17 AM
motordavid's Avatar
RetiredBum & Semi-RenaissanceMan
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mtns of Western NC, & SW FLA
Posts: 16,829
motordavid will become famous soon enoughmotordavid will become famous soon enough
Umptyseventh EBay scam Question...

Got this email this am..."similar but diff" from previous bs EBay stuff. Should I persue it and click and do as they ask or jes' toss it?

TheCEO & I are very infrequent eBay lookers or buyers, but she did buy some fabric for quilting there, months ago. I have never opened an "account" or bought anything from the them.

I trust sites like eBay like I trust the govmint.
Any opins are welcome. Thanks&BR,md

email paste:

Your credit/debit card information must be updated
Dear eBay Member,
We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your eBay account from a foreign IP address and we have reasons to believe that your account was used by a third party without your authorization. If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual login attempts may have been initiated by you
The login attempt was made from:
IP address: 172.25.210.66
ISP Host: cache-66.proxy.aol.com
By now, we used many techniques to verify the accuracy of the information our users provide us when they register on the Site. However, because user verification on the Internet is difficult, eBay cannot and does not confirm each user's purported identity. Thus, we have established an offline verification system to help you evaluate with who you are dealing with.





click on the link below, fill the form and then submit as we will verifyhttp://www.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?VerifyRegistrationShow

Please save this fraud alert ID for your reference

Please Note -
</FONT> If you choose to ignore our request, you leave us no choice but to temporally suspend your account.

* Please do not respond to this e-mail as your reply will not be received.

Respectfully,
Trust and Safety Department
eBay Inc.


</FONT>Helpful links
Search eBay - Find other items of interest
My eBay - Track your buying and selling activity
Discussion boards - Get help from other eBay members
eBay Help - Find answers to your questions
Learn More: Get notifications right on your desktop before an auction ends with the eBay Toolbar !

As outlined in our User Agreement, eBay will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements. Visit our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have any questions.



Copyright © 2005 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.

eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc.



</FONT>
__________________
Ol'UncleMotor
From the Home Base of Pro Bono Punditry
and 50 Cent Opins...

Our Mtn Scenes, Car Pics, and Road Trip Pics on Flickr:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/4527537...7627297418250/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/4527537...7627332480833/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/45275375@N00/

My X Page




Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:30 AM
Chris F.'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northeast
Posts: 1,618
Chris F. is on a distinguished road
TOSS IT....total scam
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:31 AM
ncx's Avatar
Admin, Prem
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 4,006
ncx is on a distinguished road
MD, that is a known scam. Just hit the delete key and fogettabboutit. I got several of these too and checked out the code in the email. ALl of the links other than the one you click go to legit Ebay servers. However, the form you click on is redirected to a spoofed hack server. In fact, if you will hover your mouse over the link to the form.... look at the URL it points to, it goes to http://www.ebay-servicedepartment.com/ instead of ebay.com... Toss it.
__________________
Custom X Page | Support Xoutpost!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:33 AM
UCrewX5's Avatar
co-founder
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hockeytown, USA
Posts: 9,741
UCrewX5 has disabled reputation
md - that's a common spool email and is not associated with eBay in any way. See this page for how to report it, should you be so inclined - http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidenc...eft-spoof.html

Whenever I get these I report them immediately so that the site gets shut down and others don't get burned. Unfortunately, the crooks behind these scams just move on to another site and repeat it. It only takes one person to respond out of the millions of these emails they send out for them to profit from this ruse.
__________________

Xoutpost.com - where you come for the information but stay for the friendships
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:34 AM
LeMansX5's Avatar
Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: X5world
Posts: 20,269
LeMansX5 has a spectacular aura aboutLeMansX5 has a spectacular aura aboutLeMansX5 has a spectacular aura about
Another phishing email. Toss it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:40 AM
Verbalkint's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: RI
Posts: 1,012
Verbalkint is on a distinguished road
Yup. Agreed: Total Scam. You can toss it, or report it to eBay by forwarding the entire message to: [email protected].

From eBay:
eBay will not send you email that includes attachments and you will not be required to enter information on a page that cannot be accessed from the eBay site. If you receive a message that appears to have been sent from eBay that includes an attachment, do not open it.

Here's a couple of links:

http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidence/spoof-email.html

http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidenc...eft-spoof.html

EDIT: Too late on the draw. What Jeff said.

----
What's that object I see in the sky? Could it be...the sun? It's Zaino time.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:41 AM
motordavid's Avatar
RetiredBum & Semi-RenaissanceMan
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mtns of Western NC, & SW FLA
Posts: 16,829
motordavid will become famous soon enoughmotordavid will become famous soon enough
Thanks, Men! Ya'll THEBest!

Thought so, but wasn't sure, so I come here and ask the Pros.

Thanks for watching out and advising your FaveXWorldGeezer.
BR,Ol'UncMtr
__________________
Ol'UncleMotor
From the Home Base of Pro Bono Punditry
and 50 Cent Opins...

Our Mtn Scenes, Car Pics, and Road Trip Pics on Flickr:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/4527537...7627297418250/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/4527537...7627332480833/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/45275375@N00/

My X Page




Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2005, 11:57 AM
dsheli's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 477
dsheli is on a distinguished road
Notice how the If an ip address starts with 172 then it is a private Ip. It is impossible for someone to the surfing the internet with that IP. Total scam.
__________________
Love to here what you think of my pictures!
http://www.photoshelter.com/user/davidstewart
dé•jà Vroom (da•zhä Vroom') n.
:AF330i: :AF330i: :AF330i: :AF330i: :AF330i: :AF330i:
BMW X5 3.0i (Oxford Grün)
BMW 530i
GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab Heavy Duty My car (Truck)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:39 PM
ricky.agrawal's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sugarland (Houston) Texas
Posts: 774
ricky.agrawal is on a distinguished road
What e-mail provider do you use?

One of the strong points of GMail is that a lot of phishing attempts are seeded out into your Spam box before you even see them. That helps tremendously.
__________________
2005 LS430 || 2006 LX470
My Computer Helps Save Lives
admin @ mbworld.org
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:59 PM
motordavid's Avatar
RetiredBum & Semi-RenaissanceMan
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mtns of Western NC, & SW FLA
Posts: 16,829
motordavid will become famous soon enoughmotordavid will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricky.agrawal
What e-mail provider do you use?

One of the strong points of GMail is that a lot of phishing attempts are seeded out into your Spam box before you even see them. That helps tremendously.
I use a local ISP provider and that email; they are also my high speed wireless provider. I really don't want to change my email address. With my Norton and ZoneAlarm and router, I don't get much spam. The lil'I do get I can live with. But, thanks for the suggestion...BR,md
__________________
Ol'UncleMotor
From the Home Base of Pro Bono Punditry
and 50 Cent Opins...

Our Mtn Scenes, Car Pics, and Road Trip Pics on Flickr:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/4527537...7627297418250/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/4527537...7627332480833/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/45275375@N00/

My X Page




Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:09 AM.
vBulletin, Copyright 2026, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
© 2017 Xoutpost.com. All rights reserved. Xoutpost.com is a private enthusiast site not associated with BMW AG.
The BMW name, marks, M stripe logo, and Roundel logo as well as X3, X5 and X6 designations used in the pages of this Web Site are the property of BMW AG.
This web site is not sponsored or affiliated in any way with BMW AG or any of its subsidiaries.