Home Forums Articles How To's FAQ Register
Go Back   Xoutpost.com > BMW SAV Forums > X5 (E53) Forum
Arnott
User Name
Password
Member List Premier Membership Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Xoutpost server transfer and maintenance is occurring....
Xoutpost is currently undergoing a planned server migration.... stay tuned for new developments.... sincerely, the management


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2021, 01:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: PA
Posts: 14
3liter6 is on a distinguished road
Used LCM coding

Hi all,

My E53 (01/2002; M54) has been having some issues which I correctly identified as being a dead/dying LCM. I replaced the LCM with one I grabbed at the junkyard and pulled out the laptop to try and get it coded up. I thought I could just load up NCS Expert, load the VO, and get NCS expert to flash the factory coding up to the LCM. It hasn't worked that way, and when I try and write to the LCM I get an error that googling has told me is linked to the VIN not matching..

I ordered a PA Soft today, but I've found references (but no how-tos) on changing the VIN with Tool32 or WinKFP. The writeups I can find are for gauge clusters and I don't have the same options. Anyone know how to do this? I guess it's not an emergency since the LCM seems to have all the typical functions working, but it's bothering me that it's possible and I can't do it.

Also, my LCM and the used one are both LCM-III. I've seen references to swapping in LCM IV, etc. Is there much advantage to going that route? Is it essentially plug and play?
Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 05-22-2021, 05:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 779
Clavurion is on a distinguished road
Some years have passed since last time. As far as I can remember there should be quite direct box in Scanner where to change the VIN. E53 LCM can't be flashed so WinKFP is out of the question and I suspect this can't be done with Tool32 either.
__________________
E39 530dA -02 M-Sport Messing metallic
E53 X5 3.0dA -06 Sport Stratus grey
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2021, 05:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: PA
Posts: 14
3liter6 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clavurion View Post
Some years have passed since last time. As far as I can remember there should be quite direct box in Scanner where to change the VIN. E53 LCM can't be flashed so WinKFP is out of the question and I suspect this can't be done with Tool32 either.
The PA Soft should be here tomorrow and like you said it's supposed to be pretty straightforward so hopefully that will let me take care of things.

Thank you for confirming that it probably won't work and I should stop trying to figure it out
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2021, 06:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 483
Effduration is on a distinguished road
According to this, you need to write VIN with Tool32 then code it with NCS when installing a used LCM.

https://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/s...-for-an-E53-X5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2021, 02:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 779
Clavurion is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Effduration View Post
According to this, you need to write VIN with Tool32 then code it with NCS when installing a used LCM.

https://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/s...-for-an-E53-X5
Those instructions look more like for E70 or similar era. On E53 ZCS/VO is stored on instrument cluster and EWS module, not on LCM. It is possible that writing VIN to LCM is possible with Tool32, never personally tried, but for certain can be done with BMW scanner (P.A. Soft).
__________________
E39 530dA -02 M-Sport Messing metallic
E53 X5 3.0dA -06 Sport Stratus grey
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2021, 02:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Calgary
Posts: 387
Bmwe5320023.0 is on a distinguished road
I used this guide when I replaced my LCM.
Tamper dot went away
Attached Images
File Type: pdf PASoft LCM Coding v1.1.pdf (561.2 KB, 28 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-24-2021, 07:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: PA
Posts: 14
3liter6 is on a distinguished road
Thanks all.

The PA Soft changed the VIN and Mileage so tamper dot went away. I tried to do a full factory restore in NCS Expert but it really doesn't like the module for some reason (It may think it's not compatible -- can't find solid answers on google about errors) so I wasn't able to do that. I ended up going back to PA Soft and manually turning off all the options my truck doesn't have and everything seems to be fine. I'm headed out to junkyard again in few minutes and may see if there's an LCM that may work there.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-24-2021, 06:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 779
Clavurion is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3liter6 View Post
Thanks all.

The PA Soft changed the VIN and Mileage so tamper dot went away. I tried to do a full factory restore in NCS Expert but it really doesn't like the module for some reason (It may think it's not compatible -- can't find solid answers on google about errors) so I wasn't able to do that. I ended up going back to PA Soft and manually turning off all the options my truck doesn't have and everything seems to be fine. I'm headed out to junkyard again in few minutes and may see if there's an LCM that may work there.

Thanks again!
So what error was NCS giving? If the coding index is different than original, easiest to just do "Read ECU" first before actual coding so it changes the default coding index to code the current module.
__________________
E39 530dA -02 M-Sport Messing metallic
E53 X5 3.0dA -06 Sport Stratus grey
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-30-2021, 07:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: PA
Posts: 14
3liter6 is on a distinguished road
Sorry, I go to school about 3 hours away from my garage and only make it back on the weekends. There error is in German, so I couldn't reconstruct it that well.

I tried it again today with updated SP-Daten files to see if that helps, but still no luck:



Happens with pretty much any job action in NCS Expert. (I think there was one--Info?-- where I actually got a result back)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2021, 08:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 779
Clavurion is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3liter6 View Post
Sorry, I go to school about 3 hours away from my garage and only make it back on the weekends. There error is in German, so I couldn't reconstruct it that well.

I tried it again today with updated SP-Daten files to see if that helps, but still no luck:



Happens with pretty much any job action in NCS Expert. (I think there was one--Info?-- where I actually got a result back)
So you tried "Read ECU" first like I mentioned on my previous post? On the box where is shows used coding index and prg and iso files you can change the coding index manually to correct one if needed.
.
Attached Images
 
__________________
E39 530dA -02 M-Sport Messing metallic
E53 X5 3.0dA -06 Sport Stratus grey

Last edited by Clavurion; 05-30-2021 at 08:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 PM.
vBulletin, Copyright 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
2017 Xoutpost.com. All rights reserved. Xoutpost.com is a private enthusiast site not associated with BMW AG.
The BMW name, marks, M stripe logo, and Roundel logo as well as X3, X5 and X6 designations used in the pages of this Web Site are the property of BMW AG.
This web site is not sponsored or affiliated in any way with BMW AG or any of its subsidiaries.