Home Forums Articles How To's FAQ Register
Go Back   Xoutpost.com > BMW SAV Forums > X5 (E70) Forum
Bimmer Tool Rental
User Name
Password
Member List Premier Membership Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Xoutpost server transfer and maintenance is occurring....
Xoutpost is currently undergoing a planned server migration.... stay tuned for new developments.... sincerely, the management


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-09-2019, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New England
Posts: 503
josiahg52 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by minesapasty View Post
No, I have done nothing yet...... I just checked what I had compared to the fuse layout. As far as I am aware, no one has removed any fuse and 131 is definitely a 5 amp, just as it says on diagram. There are several fuse positions that dont have a fuse in, not just position 130.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Xoutpost.com mobile app
Yeah, not all fuse locations will be populated on any given vehicle. Position 130 should have a 15A fuse according to your scans.
__________________
8/2011 X5 xDrive35d Sport, Black Sapphire Metallic, Black Nevada Leather, Fine Burr Walnut Trim
2/2001 M5, Jet Black, Exclusive Complete Black Walk Nappa Point Heritage Leather, Black Cubic Trim
Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links

  #12  
Old 05-09-2019, 05:40 PM
minesapasty's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: St Austell, Cornwall. UK
Posts: 56
minesapasty is on a distinguished road
If 131 is only a 5 amp fuse, covering the OBD socket and various items on the displays, the rating seems a bit low to me...... any ideas ?

Sent from my SM-G965F using Xoutpost.com mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-09-2019, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New England
Posts: 503
josiahg52 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by minesapasty View Post
If 131 is only a 5 amp fuse, covering the OBD socket and various items on the displays, the rating seems a bit low to me...... any ideas ?

Sent from my SM-G965F using Xoutpost.com mobile app
1) Put a 15A fuse in position 130.

2) Use your OBD-II diagnostic port aa designed.
__________________
8/2011 X5 xDrive35d Sport, Black Sapphire Metallic, Black Nevada Leather, Fine Burr Walnut Trim
2/2001 M5, Jet Black, Exclusive Complete Black Walk Nappa Point Heritage Leather, Black Cubic Trim
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-09-2019, 06:28 PM
minesapasty's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: St Austell, Cornwall. UK
Posts: 56
minesapasty is on a distinguished road
but why would someone remove the fuse ? Previous work done has never caused the mechanic to say that the OBD II port wasn't working, the recent mobile bloke never went near the boot area, and I haven't removed it....... so if that is what's wrong, who pulled fuse 130 out ???

Sent from my SM-G965F using Xoutpost.com mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-09-2019, 06:44 PM
andrewwynn's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 3,905
andrewwynn is on a distinguished road
Impossible and no purpose to guess. If it's a non spot It won't have contacts. The usual why is to borrow from an under used spot when short a similar amp fuse elsewhere.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
E53 / M54 2001 3.0i gas LHD (pair of them: his & her)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-09-2019, 06:49 PM
minesapasty's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: St Austell, Cornwall. UK
Posts: 56
minesapasty is on a distinguished road
I changed fuse 131 with the 5 amp in the bank of spares, that's why the clock and date had reset..... but as it happens, I do have loads of spare fuses, so trying another is no problem
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-10-2019, 05:34 PM
Qsilver7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 3,296
Qsilver7 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by minesapasty View Post
I changed fuse 131 with the 5 amp in the bank of spares, that's why the clock and date had reset..... but as it happens, I do have loads of spare fuses, so trying another is no problem
Why do you keep referring to fuse 131 and its 5amp fuse? As you've stated...it's has a fuse with the correct amperage plugged into that location.

It is fuse #130 that we keep asking why isn't there a 15amp fuse in that location? Your fuse index indicates that it serves the OBD II socket and you've told us that there is no fuse there...as well as telling us your OBD II socket isn't communicating.

The suggestion to insert a 15 amp fuse seems to be something you are fighting NOT to do...why? It doesn't matter if someone removed it or who that person was at this point...we are trying to find out why the OBD II socket isn't working and at this point...it doesn't make sense that the 15 amp fuse isn't in location #130. As previously asked...are there metal contacts in fuse #130's location? If yes, then it is wired for a fuse to be there. It will either work or not work...but at least this suggestion can be removed from the list as possible culprits.

The fuse locations with a dash (-) means that no fuse is suppose to be there. But if you may not have a fuse in a location if your BMW isn't optioned with the feature that that position powers. So this could leave empty fuse locations, too.
__________________
{BMW CCA Member #191509 - (for more info see: www.bmwcca.org)}
  • 2013 f06 650ix GC (1/13 build date) Black Sapphire exterior/Schwarz (black) Nappa Leather interior
  • 2006 e53 X5 4.4i (12/05 build date) Sterling Gray exterior/Schwarz (black) Dakota Leather interior
  • 1997 e38 740iL (sold) Arctic Silver
  • 1999 e39 540iT (sold) Orient Blue
  • 1995 e34 525iT (sold) Alpine White
  • 1991 e32 735iL (sold) Schwarz (black)
  • 1985 e30 325e (sold) Bronzit
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-10-2019, 05:41 PM
minesapasty's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: St Austell, Cornwall. UK
Posts: 56
minesapasty is on a distinguished road
Today, I received the OBDII code reader that I ordered, so hopefully tomorrow, weather permitting, I will be able to plug it in and also try a fuse in position 130.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Xoutpost.com mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-10-2019, 05:44 PM
minesapasty's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: St Austell, Cornwall. UK
Posts: 56
minesapasty is on a distinguished road
I haven't been resisting putting a fuse into the slot, I haven't had anything to see if it has made a difference until the code reader arrived.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Xoutpost.com mobile app
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-11-2019, 08:22 AM
minesapasty's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: St Austell, Cornwall. UK
Posts: 56
minesapasty is on a distinguished road
This morning, I have plugged my new code scanner into the OBD connector and it works...... without a 15 amp fuse in position 130..... so why didn't the 3000.00 one from Snap-On work that the mechanic had ? This really isn't making sense to me at all, I saw for myself, the mechanic plugging it into his van and it was working, but when connected to my e70, no connection could be achieved, or words to that effect.
Anyway, it seems to be working fine, so, as the old saying goes, "If it isn't broke, don't fix it".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:09 AM.
vBulletin, Copyright 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
2017 Xoutpost.com. All rights reserved. Xoutpost.com is a private enthusiast site not associated with BMW AG.
The BMW name, marks, M stripe logo, and Roundel logo as well as X3, X5 and X6 designations used in the pages of this Web Site are the property of BMW AG.
This web site is not sponsored or affiliated in any way with BMW AG or any of its subsidiaries.