Home Forums Articles How To's FAQ Register
Go Back   Xoutpost.com > BMW SAV Forums > X5 (E70) Forum
Fluid Motor Union
User Name
Password
Member List Premier Membership Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Xoutpost server transfer and maintenance is occurring....
Xoutpost is currently undergoing a planned server migration.... stay tuned for new developments.... sincerely, the management


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2020, 04:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SW of Philadelphia
Posts: 9
m3buzz is on a distinguished road
Sirius radio help

I have searched this forum, and google more generally, to try to determine where the satellite radio module would be located in my 2011 X5d (build 10/26/10). I found pics of the module in 2009's and some info on E53's, but my trunk space does not look like either of those, and in the rear left compartment, I don't have any 'spare' fiber or wiring.

I did a VIN decode, and I do have $693 option for sat radio prep, so I was assuming that there would be some unconnected wires/fiber somewhere around there, but I can't find anything. Has anyone encountered this?
Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 04-08-2020, 08:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 387
smassey321 is on a distinguished road
2010 and up all have a satellite tuner built into the i-drive head unit. Since yours has the prep option, the tuner is disabled and needs to be enabled. You need to purchase/obtain an FSC code and have a coder add it to your i-drive. The dealer can do it, or there are other online options. There are ways to do this for free (cic patcher) however you need to be able to code and have the appropriate coding cable.
__________________
2009 35d, 2006 325i & 330i
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2020, 09:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SW of Philadelphia
Posts: 9
m3buzz is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by smassey321 View Post
2010 and up all have a satellite tuner built into the i-drive head unit. Since yours has the prep option, the tuner is disabled and needs to be enabled. You need to purchase/obtain an FSC code and have a coder add it to your i-drive. The dealer can do it, or there are other online options. There are ways to do this for free (cic patcher) however you need to be able to code and have the appropriate coding cable.
Thatís awesome news, I was almost going to buy a module. When I couldnít find any connectors in the trunk, I got kind of suspicious that something was different here. Thank you for educating me!!
So - I have done several things on the X5 via coding, and if itís just a matter of changing a setting from Ďnicht aktiví to Ďaktiví that should be easy. But, I have heard of CIC changes that can only be applied by editing files (nettodata) and for that, Iím not as comfortable. Iíll check it out! Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2020, 09:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 387
smassey321 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3buzz View Post
Thatís awesome news, I was almost going to buy a module. When I couldnít find any connectors in the trunk, I got kind of suspicious that something was different here. Thank you for educating me!!
So - I have done several things on the X5 via coding, and if itís just a matter of changing a setting from Ďnicht aktiví to Ďaktiví that should be easy. But, I have heard of CIC changes that can only be applied by editing files (nettodata) and for that, Iím not as comfortable. Iíll check it out! Thanks again
Since you have a coding cable, that opens up the option for remote coding. Several vendors add the fsc code that way. You can also buy the fsc code from them and add it yourself. Or finally, use script activation to create your own fsc code with fsc patcher.

Research adding fsc codes to your CIC. It is not the same as basic coding. Ignore the map fsc posts which are not the same process.
__________________
2009 35d, 2006 325i & 330i
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2020, 01:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SW of Philadelphia
Posts: 9
m3buzz is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by smassey321 View Post
Since you have a coding cable, that opens up the option for remote coding. Several vendors add the fsc code that way. You can also buy the fsc code from them and add it yourself. Or finally, use script activation to create your own fsc code with fsc patcher.

Research adding fsc codes to your CIC. It is not the same as basic coding. Ignore the map fsc posts which are not the same process.
After hitting just a couple of sites and reading about FSC codes, it seems daunting with potential for issues. I am going to also look into the vendors you mentioned to see if that makes more sense than me making a bigger problem. Still more research to be done though. Thanks again for all the information!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
e70, satellite, sirius

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 PM.
vBulletin, Copyright 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
© 2017 Xoutpost.com. All rights reserved. Xoutpost.com is a private enthusiast site not associated with BMW AG.
The BMW name, marks, M stripe logo, and Roundel logo as well as X3, X5 and X6 designations used in the pages of this Web Site are the property of BMW AG.
This web site is not sponsored or affiliated in any way with BMW AG or any of its subsidiaries.